Wednesday, March 10, 2021

Join the Demanding Genealogist for Weekly Evening Breakouts During May, 2021

 

Motif #1, Rockport, Massachusetts

Missing our usual hallway meetups at NERGC? Wishing you could spend an evening over a Sam Adams with your friends, catching up? Want to start your day at the Dunkin Donuts, sure to spot a few friends in line getting their iced coffee and donut? Well, we can’t do that, but we can use technology to give ourselves some break time.

The Demanding Genealogist will host five breakout Zoom meetings during the last month of NERGC. We can say Hi to each other, talk about how much fun we’re having at NERGC, and relax with our personal beverage of choice.[1] We’ll also take a little bit of time to talk with our friends from outside New England about our regional ways of doing things, with a focus on family history. Very roughly, each hangout will be divided into one-third social time, one-third small group breakouts, and one-third answering questions.

The Zoom meetings are limited to 100 people each week. You need to register separately for each one.

Date and Time

Registration Link

Topic of the Week

Breakout Rooms

Sunday, May 2, 2021

8 PM Eastern

(7 PM Central)

(6 PM Mountain)

(5 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this week.

What Makes New England Research Different?

CT, RI, MA, NH, VT, ME

Monday, May 10, 2021

8 PM Eastern

(7 PM Central)

(6 PM Mountain)

(5 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this week.

What Records Were Kept by the Towns?

Breakout rooms by record types

Sunday, May 16, 2021

8 PM Eastern

(7 PM Central)

(6 PM Mountain)

(5 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this week.

Major Resources and Repositories

Breakout rooms by resource and repository

Sunday, May 23, 2021

8 PM Eastern

(7 PM Central)

(6 PM Mountain)

(5 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this week.

Migration Into, Within, and From New England

Breakout rooms by migration patterns

Tuesday, June 1, 2021

8 PM Eastern

(7 PM Central)

(6 PM Mountain)

(5 PM Pacific)

Click here to register for this week.

What Questions Do We Still Have?

CT, RI, MA, NH, VT, ME




NERGC registration includes all of these classes and Live Chats. There are additional classes that you can add to registration if you wish.

If you are not already registered for NERGC 2021, click here to register.


NOTICE: This effort to efficiently use the resources of NERGC 2021 is unofficial and in no way developed by NERGC 2021.

Photography Credit: Deborah Parks for the US National Archives, February 1971, Motif #1, Rockport, Massachusetts, no known copyright, flickr.com.


[1] The Demanding Genealogist wishes to thank Denise Cross, cg, for her wonderful suggestion of evening social time. It immediately struck a chord.


No comments:

Post a Comment